The Dog Star

Ra, the Egyptian sun god, carried the sun disk on his crown – I feel a slight affinity when I don my head torch which possesses the brightness of Sirius – the brightest star, and ironically named the Dog Star (as any fan of Twilight Barking – sequel to 101 Dalmations will know). However, I also feel it’s been turned around against me by the evil demons, who have learned of its abilities.

They have learned that the Torch of Sirius can, as if by magick, cause things to glow; things like bollards, and, of course, animal eyes. Tiny pinpricks of light, across huge fields, that blink and dance, teasing and tempting the demons to give chase. Which the little fuckers do, and with mud underfoot, ’tis a hair raising, heart stopping moment before I can anchor Image result for sirius starmyself and them.

This morning it was badgers; I guessed badgers because of their habit of running for several yards, then stopping and turning to stare before badgering off again; foxes don’t tend to do that, they just take flight and keep going. Also the tracks left through the dewy crops indicated a low slung animal, not the neat single track paw prints of a fox. There you go, don’t say you never learn anything.

 

Author: malamute musings

I'm owned by a working team of Alaskan Malamute sled dogs, am a pagany philosophy student, and pretend to be a professional writer - all these add up to .......well, ......to me. And that's what I blog about - random musings, thoughts and being dragged around.

Leave a Reply

