Bad times and good

Gory photo warning!

I thought long and hard about posting this but I write about living with malamutes and it’s not all fun and zoomies. So, here goes – BTW judge me, but don’t judge my dogs please.

Yesterday Hamish got himself completely tangled in that thin stringy electric fencing that a farmer had put up overnight around his crops. Local walkers are allowed to walk around the wide edges of the fields but obviously not across them. Hamish unfortunately ran through the four strand fencing and got wrapped in it.

He was scared witless and in pain, and as I tried to untangle him he jumped on my back and bit the back of my head. He was completely freaked, scared and terrified. Anyway I went to a and e and the lovely nurses glued the four puncture holes back together.  Hamish didn’t return to his normal self til late afternoon. His eyes were hard, and challenging, but there was fear there too. img_1407-2

Today he seems perfectly normal – we’ve had hugs, zoomies and a song, but I wanted to say, that even the sweetest dog can change unrecognisably if in pain and fear. A big, powerful dog can do a huge amount of damage in this situation, and 9/10 it’s not the dogs fault. There were no warning signs on the fencing.

 

Author: malamute musings

I'm owned by a working team of Alaskan Malamute sled dogs, am a pagany philosophy student, and pretend to be a professional writer - all these add up to .......well, ......to me. And that's what I blog about - random musings, thoughts and being dragged around.

Leave a Reply

