Searching on a whim, or more

I was one of those children who was adopted through the church, or to put it another way, I think my birth mother was ‘persuaded’ to give me up all those years ago. I have read for years about the horrific Magdalene Laundries, but didn’t realise that the Church of England was involved; however recently this scandalous practice has been highlighted and the church has ‘apologised’.

For all my life, I have never been drawn, like others, to seek out my birth mother, assuming she gave me up willingly – obviously times were different then, and who am I to judge someone on this? I have no bitterness, anger or even questions – she had her reasons, and I’m sure it was a tough decision to make.

However, if the decision had been made for her, if she felt she had no choice – now, that is something I could get angry, for her, about. A young 19 year old, with a good education, and a religious upbringing, to fall pregnant must have been scandalous and terrifying. Her and my father ‘could not marry’ – read into that what you will.

So, I am going to try and find her……..who knows what it’ll bring, if anything. It’s been over forty years (although, obviously, I am only 36 – not sure how that happened, but I admit to nothing lol), and paths differ greatly. But I feel now is the time to at least try.

Has anyone been here? Traveled this road? How did it work out?

 

Author: malamute musings

I'm owned by a working team of Alaskan Malamute sled dogs, am a pagany philosophy student, and pretend to be a professional writer - all these add up to .......well, ......to me. And that's what I blog about - random musings, thoughts and being dragged around.

Leave a Reply

